Isn’t it time for bed?

Yeah, well, I  suppose it is. Hey, I thought I would get a head-start on the day and post a note before going to bed, so that I have something else for folks to look at when they pop in to see the place.Wine and Roses

On the design front, I have a design coming out in the fall or winter issue of Interweave Knits. Last I heard, anyway. I would think if it got bumped I would hear about it. Come to think of it, it is almost October so I should go take a look in the bookstore, as this means I will get paid soon. WooHoo! The design is called Wine and Roses (or at least that is what it was called when submitted, it might be something else in the magazine).

This little number came about as a desire to have something equally fun in boudoir or nature hike to keep hands warm in the winter. With the first thought being in bed, as my hands get really, truely cold.

The yarn is a fingering weight Cashmere from Jade Sapphire Exotic Fibers.

There are a number of fun little things in this, including an edging from Latvian mittens, a lace stitch pattern from (I think, although I don’t remember for certain) Estonia, some lace texture stitches, and a take-off on a picot hem.

It was a lot of fun to knit, and I am thinking I may need to knit another pair…but I am not terribly good at getting projects done, which is why I have test knitters. This is the first design I have going into an American magazine. I have been in the British mag, Knitting…but that is another story for another day.

 Peace and Knitting, JoLene

12 Responses to “Isn’t it time for bed?”

  1. Jane Prater Says:

    Love the name of your blog. These are beautiful. I have something on the needles right now that is similar, but only half thought out and will have to be frogged a hundred times before they work. I think I’ll just wait for my magazine and add your hands to my cuffs. Those will go to a daughter. My pair will be as elegant as yours. Thanks for sharing early.

  2. Mary Pat Says:

    Congratulations on your new BLOG. It is already in my list of “Favorites”.

    Thank you for the kind words about our “List” we are lucky to have you as a member.

  3. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks, Jane and Mary! So glad you left comments and thanks for taking a look. VBG.

  4. jolenetreace Says:

    Well, That is a nice surprise. The little picture that popped up when I replied is of my sister and I, I uploaded it when setting up the blog. We were always like two peas in a pod. She is on the right and I am on the left.

  5. Nancy J Says:

    Great to see you blog (I am as yet blogless!)Enjoy your newsletter and other work.

  6. Tammy Says:

    Those are lovely! Welcome to the blog world. It is a lot of fun and you meet some really nice people.

  7. jolenetreace Says:

    Tammy, I have had a lot of fun so far and the people I met have been lovely. My Dad suggested I get one over a year ago. Thanks for writing and hope you have a good day.

  8. Carol Says:

    This are beautiful! I’ll be making them for sure. Thanks for your designs, Jolene. I’m so glad we got to meet at Stitches in 2003. Gosh, that’s a long time ago. I hope to see you again soon.

  9. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks, Carol! Glad to see you pop in and leave a note. Was it in 2003? Time sure flies. Seems like yesterday.

  10. amanda Says:

    very nice

  11. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks, Amanda!

  12. beth Says:

    i also love knitting lace, especially shawls.

Leave a Reply

