It’s Making Me Loopy

I have wasted an entire morning on looped knitting. I did it on the edge of a small swatch and liked it, but the technique is a little futsy. I love the effect though. I would ultimately like to put it on a pair of mittens or the edge of a sweater, but therein lies the rub. It is not big fat quick easy knitting.

 Why is it that our primary consideration is that the yarn is not fine and that it is quick and fast? Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that this type of knitting is “bad”. But I am saying it should not be at the top of every single list.

Case in point: my oldest stepdaughter is pregnant. I am working on a surprise project for her husband. When they got married my youngest stepdaughter knitted an afghan for the happy couple, which pretty much is not shared (she pretty much latched onto it). He gets warm easy. So, if I am going to knit something for him, it is going to be in a lighter weight yarn. Why put the effort into something that he won’t be able to use? If I insist on something that knits up quick because it is worsted weight or greater,  I would be wasting my time and effort.

I have to say one of my pet peeves is the difficulty finding appropriate yarns for summer wear. They are out there, they are just not easy to find. Why? Because if it isn’t at least a DK weight then folks don’t want to buy it.  And I keep looking at it, scratching my head and thinking, but it is summer.The air so hot, heavy and wet that it is truly unpleasant to be outside. And they are offering me worsted weight. I don’t care if it is cotton, it is still too heavy and hot. I want to be able to wear it and enjoy it, not wear it and suffer. We have to consider other things besides whether it knits up fast or not.

So getting back to my original comments that started this thread, the fringe looks way cool. Will it sell in a pattern? Not very easily. It isn’t quick and easy, it is in fine yarn.  And that is a shame, because as I said, it looks way cool. For me, the designs I love best are ones where things are chosen not for how fast I can zip through my knitting, but for effect. How does it complement my knitting? What does it add to the finished piece? Does the finished piece in the yarn I am using fit the intended purpose? Does it do so making me say either “wow”, or “look at this!”…because if it doesn’t, I don’t want it in my knitting.

I love my knitting. It is something I savor, like a good meal, or a romantic evening. I don’t feel compelled to rush through it so I can get on to the next thing I will rush through. Modern life is hectic enough without letting it rush my knitting too. You will see the looped knitting, eventually. I have to explore some more before saying this is the way I like to do it. It might be a little tedious to do. But if I do it, it will look good…I won’t do it faster if it won’t look as good.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

2 Responses to “It’s Making Me Loopy”

  1. LaurieM Says:

    Fine yarn knitter here with a vote that you continue onward. If there aren’t compelling designs that lure people into knitting with fine yarn then they will never bother.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks for the encouraging word, Laurie! So nice to know there are others of us out there. vbg.

Leave a Reply

