What I Am Working On

I have been somewhat slowed down since my accident last March. Things are on the upswing now, and I thought I would share some pictures with you of things that are in progress.

Clover

This blue swatch, Clover,  was knit out of Colorado, a yarn by Interlacements. I am writing the pattern directions now and hope to get it off to the test knitter soon so it can be ready for Stitches East. Interlacements carries another of my designs, Squirrel Monkey, and they are very nice people to work with.  Garment details include a scoop neck, short sleeves (I have not decided between raglan and set in sleeves yet), and a Channel Island cast on. Length is high hip length.

I may submit this to Knitter’s magazine, as it would fit in well with their call for submissions right now.Sweet Pea

The pink swatch is Sweet Pea. Sweet Pea is a lace camisole, sized for little girls and adults. I have not worked out the sizing yet, so have I not started the pattern writing. I am thinking of doing three separate patterns, one for children, one for teens, and one for adults. I am going to at least do the pattern for children.Garment details include Channel Islandd Cast On, garter stitch bands, and scoop neck. Length would be standard sweater length. The yarn is Dale of Norway Stork, and I am going to swatch it in Catania before making a decision on which yarn to use. Catania is similar in weight to Paton’s Grace.

Thistle Leaf LaceThe last swatch I am showing is for the border of a shawl, Thistle Leaf Lace. This shawl is simply beautiful and is constructed much the same as the Evergreen Shawl that I did for Melanie Falick’s Handknit Holidays book. The swatch was knit with a lace weight wool (I don’t remember whose). I will be having it knit out of a lace weight alpaca, Suri Elegance. I also love Fino, but will be using the Suri Elegance for this one. The design is a very personal one for me, as it is a celebration of a loving friend whom I have mourned deeply. It is my prayer shawl for their passing. And more than the grieving process, it is a reflection of how the relationships with have in our lives make our lives richer and fuller, even when those relationships have ended. There are any number of lace yarns that this would be beautiful in. Treenway Silks have some wonderful Silk and Yak, Silk and Cashmere, Silk and Angora, Silk and Camel, Silk and Wook, or just plain Silk. Helen’s Lace from Lorna’s Laces is wonderful, as is Zephyr.

3 Responses to “What I Am Working On”

  1. LaurieM Says:

    All your swatches are lovely. The shawl edging is a beautiful memorial to your friend. The tiny shapes have movement and order at the same time.

  2. Mary Pat Says:

    Jolene, your new BLOG is absolutely delightful. And just like your patterns pretty to look at and easy to follow (read).

    Thank you for sharing your inspirations.

  3. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks Laurie and Mary Pat! Glad to see you stopped by.

Leave a Reply

