Angel Yarns Review: Yarns from Bergere de France

Bergere de France yarnsI recently visited the web site for Angel Yarns, an online store in the UK that I found while looking for yarns from Bergere de France. Angel Yarns is also open by appointment, and their physical address is: Angel Yarns, Angel House , 77 North Street, Portslade East Sussex BN41 1DZ, England. My order was processed and recieved in a very timely fashion and I was quite happy with my experience and purchase.

As you may remember, I have been on the hunt for two specific types of projects. Yarn for baby blankets, and yarn for knitting counterpanes. I have pretty much decided against craft store crochet cotton. I don’t have the experience with them to have an informed opinion regarding quality, and they did not have the finish I wanted. I wanted good stitch definition but still some softness, and the twist was a little hard for the project I have in mind.

The yarns I purchased from Angel Yarns from the Bergere de France line are wonderful. I have played with them a bit, and really like them. Why can’t we get these here in the states? I would guess two reasons. Primarily I think it is because we as a culture over here live busy busy busy lives and we are focused on quick and easy. How often do you see that in advertisements? Or as titles or subtitles? Fine yarns are not something we can rush through a project with as we rusy through our lives. As I said before, I have nothing against quick and easy. But for me it is like trying to live on fast food. It is awfully good from time to time, but too much of it makes me feel sick. It doesn’t nourish me. And the same can be said for yarn.

Fortunately in this day and age we are more connected and can order yarns from around the world. I ordered Coton a Tricoter, a yarn listed as a perfect summer yarn. It is available in white or ecru, and has 200 meteres per 50 grams. I really like this yarn and it is too bad it does not come in colors. However for traditional counterpanes, it is just fine…albeit a little finer than most on this side of the pond would want to knit with.

I also bought Coton 50, a 50% cotton 50% microfiber blend that comes in colors and has a more doable yardage of 140 meters per 50 grams. I do not know what the other color choices are besides the ones listed on the web site as I have not investigated it yet that fully. I bought the color chilli.

Last but not least is the Coton Mercerise, a mercerized cotton in what appears to be about a size 10 crochet cotton. At 565 meters per 100 grams, it is even finer than the Coton a Tricoter.

Rounding out the selection is Ideal, a 40% Worsted Wool, 30% Acrylic, 30% Polyamide blend that is machine wash and tumble dry. 125 meters per 50 grams, about 6 stitches to the inch. This might be a good choice for baby blankets or things you want to be easy care.

Like most good yarns, I would assume it is best to take it out of the dryer before it is bone dry. You know, tumble dry low until damp and then lay flat.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

Leave a Reply

