Color Forecast Fall/Winter 2006-2007

While I admittedly do not pay a lot of attention to runway fashion, I do like knowing what is coming up with color trends and so on. I suppose it might be interesting to hear a knitting designer say they don’t pay attention to runway fashion. I like knowing what trends are, but as most people who are familiar with my designs can probably tell, I tend to prefer things that lean toward classic lines. Classics that are fashionable, but not so trendy that you can’t wear them beyond one season.

One of the suppliers I use with my beaded stitch markers is Fire Mountain Gems. I use them for some of the Japanese Seed Beads, and for the kilt pins that the stitch markers come on. They have a Color Forecast Guide on their website, that also includes forecasts for the Spring and Summer, as well as next year’s Fall and Winter. I love looking at color forecasts.

Choosing colors is fascinating to me. I did a series of three articles on choosing colorways which appeared almost a year ago in the British magazine Knitting. One of the things I learned with that was that there are a large number of colors that are universal from one country to the next.  Anthropologists have discovered that the colors that are named first in every culture are Red, Black, White, and Yellow.  You can look to nature for inspiration in colors and colorways, you can look to culture, and you can look to things like paint colors, fabrics, interior design, even packaging, for sources of interesting colorways.

Choose what you love. Don’t be afraid to change the color of a sweater. If you like a design but the colors seem boring or dull, choose a few colors to substitute a brighter version of the same color, or chose the same colorway but colors that are not greyed. These are just a few things that you can do. And don’t be afraid to have fun with it. Try some unexpected color combinations. Paint chips from places like Home Depot are good for that, as you can put different colors together and see if you like the different effects. You won’t always get the same colors in yarn obviously, but it can help you to sort out your options.

When I was studying Metalsmithing, I knew that exposure to other areas of the arts would enhance my metalsmithing and my knitting both. I would see things that inspired new color combinations, or different ideas for different textures.  You can literally take your knitting with you even if you don’t have it with you.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

Leave a Reply

