I am so confused…

Okay, I decided to jump into starting a web ring. I set it up on Ring Surf and everything is dandy. I emailed one list that I belong to for designers, I need to email the others. Anyway, there is all of three of us so far.

 Somehow in the process, for some reason, there are only a couple links that workon the ring’s home page in the menu at the bottom of the page (Independent Knitwear Designers Web Ring). All links work on my blog and on the other sites, but the only thing that I can get to work on the ring’s home page is the link to the rings home page, the list link, and the random link. All the others bring up an error saying that the site has not been approved yet. I cannot figure that one out, as it is the site I set it up with, and it worked before.

I tried to approve, delete, and re-register, to no avail. I have re-registered the site with the title Independent Knitwear Designers Home Page, and generated new code for the links at the bottom. I will have to wait for Katherine to get back in town now, as I don’t do the updating on the web pages. They are in style sheets now and to be honest, I don’t remember much about it.

 My idea behind the ring is to make it easier for knitters who are out there surfing to find the independent designers who are out there, such as myself. There are many fine designers out there who are independent like I am, and it is truly hit or miss to find any of us. Value added content. What can we as designers do to make it easier for the knitters we serve? Sure, it promotes our business. But it makes it easier for you, too.

Just like this blog. Yes, it helps promote my design work. But there is, I hope, a lot of value added benefit for you the reader.

When I get it figured out, I’ll let you know. I hope it doesn’t take long to fix.

 Peace and Knitting, JoLene

2 Responses to “I am so confused…”

  1. Jackie E-S Says:

    Hi Jolene, The reason the links on the ring’s home page are not working is because a valid site id is not in the ring code. The site id that RingSurf has assigned to your ring’s home page is 4. Use this number in place of the places in the ring code that currently have ‘***SITEID***’.
    Jackie E-S

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks Jackie! I almost emailed you about it, too. So I was happy to see your note. Thanks!
    JoLene

Leave a Reply

