I’m Baaaack

For those who valiantly tried to follow the link to ChicKnits, I did correct the URL and it goes to that blog now. It is quite entertaining and it is part of her website and very easy to navigate.

We had a lovely trip to Mansfield Ohio, where we met at Noah’s Landing. Noah’s Landing is a lovely shop owned by Susan Sivey that is in the walk out basement of her new home. It is new enough that they have not completely moved into the upstairs yet.  I will give the contact information for Noah’s Landing a little later, when I send off the information to Katherine to add to my vendors page as Susan is now carrying my lace patterns.

Speaking of which I am sad to say I noted on some lace patterns that I had the US and mm sizes switched. I don’t know quite what happened there. And at some point, I know it had been noticed because it is on the errata sheet on my website. I don’t typically have very many errors, but when they do happen I sure feel like an air head. And then I feel embarrassed, particularly when it is related to my design work. Sure, it is okay to not be perfect in our regular lives (none of us expect people to be perfect)….(okay we all probably expect too much perfection out of ourselves most of the time and at some point out of others). What is it that makes us this way? I don’t know about you but I am typically far more forgiving (for lack of a better word) for others than myself.

We are like this with our knitting too. I noted in Mansfield with the great group that we had, there were some that basically had the attitude that this is a workshop piece, I am here to learn, it does not have to be perfect.  and I thought how great is that!

One woman commented several times on how she was slow, and I told her what was important was her enjoyment of what she was doing, not the speed of her work. And there were a few that were not entirely happy with their color selections, but they got on with it. Have you ever been in a class and made a mistake and moved on, or do you rip it out? I used to rip it out.

In all honesty I still might. I am better and looking at it before doing so and asking myself what I will gain from doing so. Will it make me remember the class better? If not, I don’t. Am I going to finish the project? If not, I don’t. Do I really care other than the fact it isn’t perfect? If not, I don’t.

Where all this is leading other than random thoughts on philosophical approaches to life and knitting I am not sure…it is always a learning experience.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

2 Responses to “I’m Baaaack”

  1. LaurieM Says:

    I made a mistake in my one commercial pattern and even though I was telling myself that it happens often enough, I was still horribly apoligetic. I think part of it is that there are people out there (and I met one) thinking that they are wrong and assuming that the pattern is correct as written. I don’t want anyone out there to think they are stupid because of a mistake that I made.

    That said, I fudge my knitting all the time. I like it like that. It feels more organic and artistic to me. Particularily when I’m working on my own design. But of course, only in areas that add to the design, never anything that takes away from it. Do you know what I mean?

    And I never aim for perfect the first time I try anything. That is just being mean and setting yourself up for failure.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Laurie, I do know what you mean…and you are right, of course. Fortunately I have never run into anyone who is on the other end, where they are very judgemental becuase there is an error. I know they are out there as I see them from time to time, complaining on lists. Of course I don’t waste time worrying about it, as I know we are all human and there will always be some of that. It just all makes you kind of cringe from a lot of different angles. In the end you have to be kind to yourself and give yourself some love and acceptance. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

