The Design Process: Fox Island

Fox Island Ladies Lace VestThis lace knitting pattern is for ladies finished chest width 19, 21, 23, 25, 27 inches. It has average ease, and is 22, 22.5, 23, 23.5, 24 inches inches long. The sample garment was knit with Black Water Abbey 2/8 organic Fingering Weight yarn.

Fox Island was actually inspired by a nature reserve near my home in Fort Wayne. The stitch pattern was chosen because it looks like little fox heads lined up, peaking out at you. You don’t see them right away but they’re there, watching and waiting.

This is an example where the stitch pattern itself led to the inspiration of the design. It works that way sometimes, where I am trying a stitch pattern in a swatch and I look at it and one thought or feeling leads to another. Thoughts and feelings about things, as well as our own imagination, are powerful inspirations and a good starting point for a design.

As it has a very natural inspiration, the qualities of the yarn it was knit with were perfect in representing the inspiration. That is not to say that you could not use any other fingering weight yarn you wish…it would be wonderful in a fingering weight cashmere too. For my interpretation, my repeating the story back to you, it set the mood for how I wanted to express it.

As always, if you like it and would prefer a different finish (different yarn) by all means choose something you love to knit it with.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

5 Responses to “The Design Process: Fox Island”

  1. LaurieM Says:

    This is a lovely design. I like the vertical lines and yet I definetly see the fox heads. 😉 I also like the deep v-neck. How did you finish the edge at the bottom?

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    It has just a couple rows of garter stitch. 4, so there are two ridges on each side. I thought about doing ribbing at the bottom, but ribbing draws in and lace expands, and I did not want the bottom to pull in. Glad you like the design. VBG.

  3. angelarae Says:

    This vest is beautiful. I would like to knit it. Is there somewhere I may purchase your pattern? I also have enjoyed reading your blog. I have been looking for one that talks more about designing knitwear. I’ll be adding it to my blogroll. Great work:)

    Thanks:)

    Ang

  4. JoLene Treace Says:

    Thank you, Ang. I appreciate the link. What is your blog address? I’d love to take a look. If you have mentioned it before, I must tell you I have a good memory but it doesn’t last long. On the right of the page towards the bottom, in the blog roll, I have the vendors who have online ordering listed. The complete vendor list is here: http://www.atimetoknit.com/d_jt_VENDORS.html
    Black Water Abbey Yarns, Nestucca Bay Yarns, and Kirtland’s Yarn Barn have online ordering and always have them in stock. Wookland Woolworks just ordered within the last couple months, but I don’t know if they have them on their website yet.

    Hope you have a great day and thanks for the note!

  5. Pam Reisch Says:

    Please tell me how to buy this pattern. Couldn’t find the buy now in ravelry

    foxypam2 on ravelry
    pjreisch@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

