Design Discussion: Flying Geese

Flying GeeseThis knitting pattern is for a ladies vest. The sample garment was knit out of Black Water Abbey 2 ply Worsted Weight yarn, and the finished chest measurements are 38, 42, 46, 50, & 54 inches. This particular design was done in 2002. At that time I was selling my patterns only through Black Water Abbey, so it was naturally done in her yarn. In the case of this particular design, it fit what I wanted as it made it to a completed pattern.

I wanted to do a project that would be good for the fall, and began looking through stitch pattern library books for ideas. I fell in love with this particular stitch pattern, as it made me think of geese flying south for the winter. We see this in the fall in this part of the country, just as many parts of North American and Canada do.

The stitch pattern forms V’s of garter stitch, and it is this portion of the pattern that made me think of flying geese. It is also made me think of a quilt block called flying geese. I needed to look no further for an Autumn vest, as I had the imagery of quilt blocks and migrating geese to inspire my design.  I chose the color Ocean, a lovely blue green color, as it made me think of some of the colors the shakers used (also colors used in New England traditionally).

Setting off the bottom of the garment is three repeats of all pattern rows with yarn overs worked where the increases are worked to give a lacey effect at the edge of the garment. So, there you have it. Curl up in a cozy quilt on a brisk fall day with your knitting, and hear the geese as they pass overhead, the first herald of the winter to come.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

Leave a Reply

