I Cannot Believe How Expensive It Is (no knitting content)

Well, I recieved a phone call from the office of my attorney for the auto accident I was in last March. Things are winding down and I will be meeting with them next week and they will be sending out the demand letter to the insurance company for the driver who pulled out in front of me. Thank goodness for me, it was not my fault.

They asked me if I knew how much my medical expenses are, and I said “I know it is at least $60,000”. They then told me it was just over $72,000. I could not believe it. I don’t have any suppositions about settlements as I have no idea what kind of insurance this elderly gentleman carried at the time, so it is still a guessing game at this point. When I met with the attorney for the first time, I told him I don’t care about a big settlement, I just don’t want the other insurance company to take advantage of me (lost wages for 7 months, treatments, and surgery did not add up in my mind as something I wanted to handle on my own).

We have up to $100,000 in coverage for under-insured motorists. My husband and I carry $100,000 on our auto liability for injury. I think I may have to increase it. I haven’t had anything in the last three years, I have a very good driving record. But you never know. It does make you think. I was never hospitalized. Well, when I had my surgery months later I spent the night…but I mean after the accident. I had numbness and tingling in my left arm, some weakness, and pain in my left shoulder blade and arm. I thought it was muscular and would go away, but was seen in the ER just in case. They thought it was muscular too. I followed up when it did not go away in a few days and the rest is history.

So I guess I am wearing my nurse hat today (I just got home from work, I worked in the ER today) and want to send out the hope and reminder that if you have something you think is minor and it has not gone away, still have it checked. If it does not go away, you have it documented. Sometimes things that you think are not a big deal end up being a big deal. If it does not go away get it checked. Your health is important.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

Leave a Reply

