Peace on Earth, Good Wool To Man

Christmas at the BellagioIt is Christmas Day. The holiday rush is almost over. We went to my parents on Saturday and celebrated with my sister and her family, yesterday my oldest step-son came over to “hang out”. Today I worked at the hospital, and my step-sons are both here as well as my husband’s oldest brother. The last three days have had unofficial family functions and visits from friends.

We do the big family thing the first weekend in January…this works out well as two of my step-kids are married (the girls). They have gatherings with their spouse’s family besides ours, of course.

My sister was previously married, and juggling when she has the kids for the holidays is by itself no easy feat. They live with their mom, and see their dad every weekend but the first one of the month. Add in the growing family and the families those additions have to see, and it just gets complicated. When we went to the first weekend of January it was just so much easier.

People get so stressed with the holidays, and I don’t really understand how we can let ourselves get to that point. Christmas may be the celebration of the birth of Christ, but beyond the religious aspect of this holiday, what is behind it resonates with everyone no matter what their religious beliefs. The peace of the season. The love of family and friends. Enjoying the company of those we care about. The opportunity to say you are special to me.

Beyond the presents, beyond the different beliefs of the people of the world, beyond the cultures of individual families, we share that common bond. It is unrealistic expectations we place upon ourselves and the holiday that leads to a lot of stress. Things don’t have to be perfect. It is okay if the husband makes the mashed potatoes green for the grandkids. Maybe we don’t have as much money as we would like to spend on gifts. Maybe we think we have to have the finest of food, gift, and decorations. These are all external trappings.

I have never been one to do a lot of knitting for gifts. Not because I don’t have the desire, but because I have trouble finishing projects. I am a process knitter. So that is not a route I normally take. And I don’t spend a lot of money on gifts, but I do think them out. Is there really any such thing as the perfect gift? We expect an awful lot out of that token of our love and affection. What makes and breaks our holidays is not wrapped in decorative paper or come in a greeting card (although it can have, admittedly, a big influence). In the end, what makes our holiday is knowing we are loved and accepted.

Where our treasures are, there lies our heart. Having said that, I love Christmas. I love the music, the food, the family celebrations, and the gifts. The best gift I ever received from my sister is a cassette recording of her playing the piano, closely followed by a scrapbook that she started for me. These have a small monetary investment but are priceless to me.

There are other things I enjoy too. New ornaments for my Christmas tree. New pieces for my nativity. Yarn. Yarn just always makes everything better. Put a ball of yarn in my hands and I am happy as a clam. Well, I am usually happy as a clam before the yarn gets to my hands, but the yarn just really makes my day. I don’t know why, really, that I have the joy that I do when confronted with  several new balls to play with.

That seems to be true for a lot of things in life. Simple pleasures really do make the world go around. 

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

4 Responses to “Peace on Earth, Good Wool To Man”

  1. LaurieM Says:

    Merry Christmas to you too JoLene!

  2. JoLene Treace Says:

    Thanks Laurie! Hope yours was Merry too.

  3. Betty Says:

    This year my DIL gave me a scrapbook she started for me. I was quite touched and think it’s wonderful. I hope you have a nice family gathering!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  4. jolenetreace Says:

    Betty, aren’t scrap books wonderful? My sister has a knack for it, where I don’t have the patience.

    You are most welcome, I enjoyed stopping by. If I see in the blog stats that there is a blog that has linked to my blog or website, I like to stop in. I appreciate being included in your knitting.

    Hope you have a great New Years!

Leave a Reply

