Wine and Roses Mitts: Edging Question

I have over the last week heard from a couple knitters who have discovered that their stitch count was off in the working of the edging. One was simply off, the other had a question regarding the number of times that the edging pattern rounds should be worked.

Generally speaking when I have trouble getting into the rythm of a stitch pattern, I will use stitch markers to help me get started until I get into the swing of things. If you find you are not ending up with the right number of stitches and a quick math check tells you that you should be, try putting in stitch markers between each pattern repeat. Sometimes I need to do this even with simple stitch patterns. Not k2 p2 ribbing simple, but close. Very humbling it is, too, I might add.

Then I look at the stitch pattern. Charts are very handy for this as you can tell at a glance what you are getting into. If this is a stitch pattern where the stitch count remains constant, as most of them are, there will be 1 yarn over for each stitch decreased in the row. In the case of this mitt, up until the final row of the edging chart there is. In the final row of the edging chart, there are stitches that are decreased that are not paired with a yarn-over. The reason for that is the edging forms scallops, which takes more stitches per inch than the stitch pattern which follows it, the pattern on the cuff.

So, we know that until working the decrease round (round 4) that the stitch count should remain the same. The next thing to look at is do the decreases and yarn overs line up as they should? In the chart for the edging of this pattern, the decreases line up over the decreases, and the yarn overs line up over the yarn overs.

Then I look at the stitches and see if there are the number of knit stitches between other types of stitches that there should be. In the last round of the edging, you work *ssk, k2, sl 1 pwise, k2, k2tog and repeat from * to the end of the round (a total of 8 times). The trouble may lie in a previous round or in something you are doing in the working of the repeat, but that is how I usually progress when something isn’t working out right.

I check the math, I check the chart, I check my knitting, and I place stitch markers. Sometimes it doesn’t become obvious to me unless I write out those different steps.

Following is my response when there was a question regarding Wine and Roses Mitts in regards to having 2 extra stiches and working multiple row repeats of the edging.

Here is what it (the pattern in Interweave) says:

Loosely CO 72 stitches. Arrange sts evenly on 4 dpn, place marker (pm) and join for working in the rnd, being careful not to twist sts. Knit 1 round. Work Rnds 1-4 of Edging chart 8 times around…

I think that is where with a casual read it might appear to be telling you to work rounds 1-4 more than once. In reality, you are being told to repeat it to the end of the round (8 times around the circumference).

There are 9 stitches in the repeat at the edging. 9×8=72 so that number is correct. For each repeat, on round 4 there are two stitches less for each repeat as there are no corresponding yarn overs worked. So on round 4, the decrease round, there are 7 stitches for each repeat.

7×8=56 stitches, so that number is correct too. I would suspect you may have a missed a couple decreases if you are off by two stitches. I would go back and look at your knitting and look and see how many stitches you have between each stitch that is slipped and if you have a decrease where the decrease is supposed to go.

I hope that this helps if you have a question on this pattern, as well as show you how to sort out a question you have yourself if you are a newer knitter. 

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

2 Responses to “Wine and Roses Mitts: Edging Question”

  1. janna Says:

    I made the Wine And Roses Mitts for my sister and was very happy with them (I want to make a pair for me next!). But the first time I read through the patten, that sentence you quoted confused me, too. However, I quickly realized that 8 repeats of those 4 rows would make an awfully long cuff…..

  2. JoLene Treace Says:

    It sometimes can be difficult, trying to decide how to word things. When the design leaves me (or any other designer) it then goes on to tech editors who have the huge task of taking what a lot of different people send in and putting it into the style of the magazine. What a huge chore!

    I thought it would be good to post as there may be others that were a little confused by it and may happen upon my blog post.

    So glad you enjoyed knitting them. I hope to get mine back soon! Especially with all the snow!

Leave a Reply

