Knitting With Friends

One of the really great things about the Internet is the wonderful community we can be part of on such a larger scale. One of the things I like to do with my blog, besides present my designs in another forum, is to give value back to the knitting community. There is not a lot written about the design process, and there are many who would like to learn but tend to have their eyes and minds glaze over if they know they are being taught design principles. I think as we are very visual, talking about a particular design and choices made can give a lot of information in a more practical way by example. So, that is my end of it. I try to share the process behind what I do, because for me that process is the fun project that I am working on. Just as it may be a sweater from a favorite designer for you. That is what I get excited about, and it thrills me to no end to be able to share that excitement with those who read my blog or knit one of my patterns.

I thought it might be interesting to share links to blogs I run across when checking the stats for my own blog. Here is an Ohio Blogger who has a link to my blog from hers. I must say she has one gorgeous hat on her March 1st post. It is really worth taking a look at. I love the detail on the hat and how the pattern comes together.

DeeAnne at Feeling Tangerine is also a blogger who has a link to my blog. She has an interesting post about her Greyhounds. One apparently has a taste for wool, and alpaca. She has a really lovely lace shawl on her blog that she knit with some of her handspun. Very nice looking it is, I might add. The close up of the handspun is beautiful (Wednesday, Feb 21st post, Forest Canopy is the name of the design).

I’ll share others from time to time. Sometimes it is really interesting to see where the links come from. My great grandparents (maternal, through my grandmother), came from Norway. Some links I have seen for the Wine and Roses Mitts that were in Interweave are on blogs in Scandinavia. One I came across recently was in Finland.

I hope you enjoy looking at these as much as I did.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

9 Responses to “Knitting With Friends”

  1. Marika Says:

    I love those mitts and I´m knitting them just now. I found your blog by recommendation of a friend. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

  2. JoLene Treace Says:

    Thanks Marika, I enjoy the blog and am glad others are enjoying it. Glad you are enjoying the mitts. They are one thing I actually knit the sample of, rather than my test knitters and I thought they were a lot of fun to knit. What yarn are you using for yours? It is interesting to see what everyone is using.

  3. DeeAnn Says:

    Well imagine my surprise when I stopped in on my blog visits and saw my name in your post! The Knitting Community never ceases to amaze me.

    I link to your blog because you were the first inspiration I had to try lace knitting. I won a blog contest that included your patterns for the Elizabeth I scarves and some lace weight yarn to go with. I started with the simplest one in the checkered acre pattern, ended up ripping it out about 18 inches into it because the yarn wasn’t doing the pattern justice. I overdyed it, started over, loved it, and gave the finished scarf to my grandmother for Christmas. She loves it, I learned a great deal doing it, and unbeknownest to you, you planted a seed that has me coming back to lace knitting here and there in my knitting explorations.

    The Sweet Germaine scarf I am knitting for a friend is probably not new but is a design that I came up with for her using a simple repeatable stitch pattern and garter stitch edgings just like in the Town and Country pattern.

    I look forward to knitting some more of your designs and enjoy reading your blog and what you are up to. Sorry for the long comment but it seemed like a great opportunity to say Thank You JoLene! You’ve been a great inspiration 🙂

  4. jolenetreace Says:

    It never ceases to amaze me, either. I am so happy to be able to share that experience with you. When I designed Elizabeth I, I was looking for something that would encourage those new to lace knitting to give it a try, so I am happy that it has met that objective. The stitch pattern suit the inspiration of the design as well as the target audience – the new lace knitter or the experienced lace knitter looking for a simply pleasing piece of knitting.

    We none of us know how we truely impact each other, and I am always somewhat surprised, bemused, and pleased when I find I am part of something that brings enjoyment to their life. It really is a lot of fun, sharing that creative experience with another person. On my end as designer sharing my work with someone who is enjoying knitting it. On your end, as a knitter who is then able to share it with someone you love. Thanks for the post I enjoyed reading it.

  5. Marika Says:

    The yarn what I use is red alpaca which I bought last winter from Ebay. I am also planning to do mitts for my sister-in-law from Finnish yarn which is blend wool and silk.

  6. jolenetreace Says:

    Marika, what fun. I love alpaca and I love wool and silk. I have come to the conclusion, sadly, that I am a yarn snob. I love the natural fibers. It doesn’t have to be expensive, but I do love those yarns. I ran into a silk and polworth blend from a company called rovings, in natural undeyed colors. In fingering weight. So yummy!!! I may have to knit a pair in that myself.

  7. Betty Says:

    Jolene – thanks for the compliments on my hat!

    I find your blog to be very helpful as I start to think about coming up with my own designs. I’m taking baby steps 🙂

  8. jolenetreace Says:

    You are welcom Betty, you did a fine job on your hat, and I appreciate the link to my blog. Glad I can be helpful with the design information. There is a lot of really good information out there. Look at other mediums, too, besides knitting, to learn about design as there will be things that will “cross over” to your knitting. I use some of the same principles when I fram a photograph as I do when deciding on placement of design elements in a sweater (for example, in the sweater Willow in Jamison’s Shetland Knitting, book 2, where there is a pattern around the bottom that flows into the pattern around the rest of the garment, I had to decide where a pleasing place would be for that transition to happen). I also use general principles of design that I learned in studying fine art. A casual google search on principles of design will give you some information on that, and talks about things like color, line and so on. Have fun and remember we all started at the same place.

  9. silk roses Says:

    silk roses

    I found it very useful. Thanks for the knowledge. I am personally trying to follow the advice & try to be independent.

Leave a Reply

