Bette Bornside Company: Yarn Store Review

I think I may have mentioned Bette’s store before, but it is worth mentioning again. I have ordered from her online when I was looking for a source for Bollicina, by Lana Borgosesia. I won’t wax too poetic over it, but it is simply wonderful. The yarn is carried by Trendsetter. This yarn is a wonderful cashmere and silk blend in fingering weight.

Bette has a lot of really wonderful yarns and lots of supplies. She is also a post Katrina survivor. When I ordered from her it was before Katrina. I had actually been in New Orleans, and wanted to go to her shop but was too busy. Her shop is located at 2733 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70117. Phone is 800-221-9276 or 504-945-4069. I am going to have to get my things together with this yarn and order some for a design. March 24 the store will be closed to walk in customers, as they are having a big sale (I got the flier, wish I could go!) and will re-open on March 26th. Bette will be going on vacation from May 6th through May 27th so the store will be closed then.

 My heart goes out to those who have struggled with the aftermath of this awful disaster. Bette has not left New Orleans since Katrina. I am happy she has been able to continue her business. She is warm, friendly, and helpful. I like to support my local yarn store, but I have come to think more globally. My local yarn store may be one I visit through my Internet connection. In the end, I go where I can get the yarns that I want, that give good service and leave me with a warm, fuzzy feeling of contentment.

Knit on, Bette, may God bless you.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

2 Responses to “Bette Bornside Company: Yarn Store Review”

  1. Angie Helman Says:

    Hi Jolene!
    Next time you visit New Orleans, we should go to Bette’s shop together! I’m sure the two of you would enjoy discussing pattern creating, as she is a prolific pattern writer. I encourage anyone who is visiting New Orleans to take the time to visit her shop. It is a little off the beaten path, but not far from the French Quarter & worth the trip. Bette is a fountain of knitting knowledge and is always willing to offer advice, inspiration and encouragement! And now I’ll return to lurkdom…Angie

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Angie I am beyond excited to hear from you. I loved visiting New Orleans, and one of my favorite experiences on the trip was having Beignets and the wonderful coffee at the Cafe Du Monde with you. Don’t know if I spelled that one right. I was sick when I heard about Katrina, and I was quite relieved when I heard that the Cathedral had been spared, as had much of the French Quarter. Is that fun gem shop where I bought the glass mardi gras beads still there? My mom loved them. I have thought of you quite a bit and wondered how you were faring in the aftermath.

    Glad you put the note in regarding Bette’s shop.

Leave a Reply

