I Need a Feed: Advice, Anyone?

I am someone who has taught myself many things. And generally I am able to quell feelings of unease related to things I don’t know and jump in and find information when I need it. I know what feed is (or have a very general understanding of it). There are many who read my blog from Bloglines or other aggregate sources. I know there is a way to make it easy to set it up for knitters to subscribe to my feed.

Is there a good place to look on this subject to find out how to set this up? I have done a little searching but have not found sites at a beginner level where I understood what they were talking about.

I do use WordPress and will snoop around there and see what I can find. Any suggestions are gratefully accepted.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

8 Responses to “I Need a Feed: Advice, Anyone?”

  1. Janice in GA Says:

    Well, there’s some kind of feed already available on your site, because I’m subscribed to it! Not sure how I found it, but this is the link to the feed:
    https://jolenetreace.wordpress.com/feed/
    According to Bloglines, 56 people are subscribed to that feed.

    Beyond that, though, I got nuthin’. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Katie Says:

    Like Janice said, wordpress.com automatically sets up a feed for you.

    http://faq.wordpress.com/2006/06/16/feeds-save-time-and-read-more/

    Also, information on providing a link to your feed in your side bar.

    http://faq.wordpress.com/2006/10/23/put-your-feed-in-your-sidebar/

  3. jody Says:

    same here — i’m already subscribed. i just pointed by RSS reader to your main blog page and it found the available feeds. so, you’re all set!

  4. jolenetreace Says:

    When I set it up in WordPress, it must be an automatic thing. I don’t know how, but that is good because I would not have a CLUE how to set it up. This is a part of technology that is foriegn to me! Thanks Jody!

  5. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks Janice. That looks easy enough as a link. I’ll have to see how to add a button to my site for the RSS feeds.

  6. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks Katie! Just what I was looking for!

  7. Ruth Says:

    Have you gone to Feedburner and “burned a feed”? Just go to http://www.feedburner.com/fb/a/home and go through their (dead simple) process – I believe (though I get most of my “knowledge” spoon fed to me from the woman who codes my website) that this makes your feed easier to pick up. Also, Feedburner has a number of buttons for the various feed readers, and one that takes your subscribers to the full range of options so they can choose their favorite format. You just copy the snippet of code they give you and put it in the appropriate spot in the sidebar (I use Typepad, but I believe WP is similar in that regard.) That being said, I didn’t have any difficulties subscribing! Oh, and thanks for the link, BTW! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks Ruth! It was my pleasure to link to your blog, you have a great blog. And thanks for the link to FeedBurn!

Leave a Reply

