Phishing: Scams Abound

I realize this has nothing to do with knitting. It does, however, have to do with business and as such affects the life of any business person, as well as the consumer. Pasted below for your edification is from an email I received. Interestingly, I do not have an account at this financial institution. Even if I did, I would NOT have even responded to them.

This is sent from some scam operation in hopes of getting the innocent, gullable, naive, trusting, what have you other adjectives you’d like to string up, to enter their information so that it can be ripped off.

 Let’s go over the salient facts for those who are not web savvy (I tend to think most are, but you never know…someone may read this who isn’t). You will never be asked, in an email, to go to a website of ANY legitimate bank, credit card company, or similar financial institution, to give things like your social security number, credit card number, or other sensitive information like that. This is something that they have on record, and those types of institutions do not do business this way.

Fake websites are done in order to make you think it is real. Do NOT open an email like this with a link in it. Close the email, sned it to the spam address of your financial institution so they can look at the expanded headers to track where it came from, and delete it. If you want to check and see if it is legit, go the the website for that company directly and not through the email that was sent. The information that this financial institution is going through an upgrade is correct, but they do not ask you to send them your information.

 I happened to get this on a day where I have had 4 hours sleep and I am cranky, so I am more likely to write about it and just tell folks to be very skeptical and wary with this type of thing, if you have not been faced with something like this. To be honest, it ticks me off. Not necessarily that I got one, as I know enough to know these are always fake, but because it makes me angry that unsuspecting people get ripped off and taken advantage of.

 Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace. Oh yes, Here is the fake one from some scumbag intent on ripping you off. The link to the fake website was broken as I did not want anyone to be confused and go there when they should not.

Dear Member,

All TCU Service Centers and Internet Banking will be closed on Saturday, May 26th and
Monday, May 28th during the Memorial Day Holiday weekend for a scheduled computer upgrade.
Your participation is required at this event !
We need you to confirm your personal data with our existing database.
To continue this application we kindly ask you to click here and update your TCU profile.

Our Member Call Center Representatives will be available on Saturday, May 26th 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m. EST
and Sunday, May 27th 11:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. EST at (800) 552-4475 to assist you with your financial needs.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you.

Sincerly,
Richard J. Rice
Chairman of the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions

Copyright © 2007 Teachers Credit Union. All rights reserved

2 Responses to “Phishing: Scams Abound”

  1. Gillian Says:

    You’re 100% right. Mostly they’re stopped by the filters for the email address I use, and don’t get to my computer very often now, but they make me nervous. And you’re right to give us extra reminders.

  2. Toya Says:

    I actually got one from the Royal Bank of Canada. Interesting since I don’t live in Canada.

Leave a Reply

