Adventures in Travel Land…TNNA and more!

I just got back form TNNA. For those who have never heard of TNNA before, it is the trade show for The National Needlework Association. It is a huge event, and frankly both fun and overwhelming (as most trade shows are). I was in the booth for Up North Fiber Art Supply, my distributor here in the states. They also carry Lucy Neatby, Sivia Harding, and Jeanne Abel, who they just picked up (and I am hoping sincerely that I spelled her name right as I am having trouble doing a google for a link). I am in good company!

While I am tempted to vent about my experience with Orbitz and my hotel reservation, let us just say that it will take a lot of persuasion for me to use Orbitz again.  Things are in the process of being straightened out, but it will involve a bit of time and faxing on my end for them to look into it.

The show was a lot of fun. I met Melanie Falick face to face and found her to be just as I pictured here from phone and email correspondance. I like her quite a bit and enjoyed meeting her in person.

I also went to different yarn companies and had fun looking at new yarns. Happy happy, joy joy, more fine yarns. My distributor found this funny since I have worsted weight in many designs. This is actually because I started with Black Water Abbey and that was the weight of their yarn! I am going to be playing with some yarns from Naturally, also some Buffalo, and some yarns from Habu Textiles (I have not decided which ones I am going to get but that will be soon).

Besides the show market (which was not, by the way, cash and carry) there was an interesting fresh market near the convention center. I don’t remember what it was called, but there was lots of fresh fruit, and food stands and so on. Next year I will not be taking any food with me in a cooler. I know where I can get lots of healthy food nearby and not the fast processed fare we normally find at these things.

Lucy Neatby is a wonderful person to get to spend some time with. If you did not know that she has DVD’s out, by all means check them out. They are wonderful and I am going to be getting some myself. I still love to learn, and she is an excellent teacher. She is booked three years out!

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

3 Responses to “Adventures in Travel Land…TNNA and more!”

  1. Donice Says:

    If the TNNA was in Columbus, then the food market is called North Market, and on Saturdays there are many local farmers outside selling their produce, as well as the inside booths and stalls. It’s a regular Saturday thing for me!

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    That would be it. The booths inside are fascinating! Lucky you to live so close by. I bet it is a lot of fun when the local produce is in.

  3. jenny Says:

    your blog has lots of useful information.
    I just started blogging a while ago and it feels great.

Leave a Reply

