Computer Woes

I have to tell you, I have had my share of computer problems lately. Fortunately I recently purchased a new lap top, when it became apparent to me that my older lap top was not acting right (after running Norton System Utilities, Anti-Spyware, and Anti-Virus to no avail). I assumed at the time that it just wasn’t up to the software I run. So I purchased a new one, and a month or so later it decided to keep blue screening. It has been at Best Buy for the last three weeks, and has even had the system restored, and it is still blue screening. Unfortunately they need to send it in as they are at their wits end. Fortunatley, it is still within the extended warrenty. Or was three weeks ago when I brought it in.

 Today, my desktop (a Sony Vaio) decided it was going to go toe up too. It has been acting a bit funny, mostly when the computer is restarted. I leave it on all the time anyway so that is usually not an issue. To make a long story short, the computer looks like it may need a system restore too. I have GOT to get some major storage so that I have an easy way to routinely back up my data.

I have a couple different options. Geek Squad has an online solution. The next option would be to get a 500 or 750 gig hard drive that is external that connects with a USB cable. The next is to get one that can connect with an ethernet, so that it can be plugged into the wireless router (thereby making it accessable to all desktops and laptops on our security protected home intranet). Which would be the easiest option as far as automatic updates.

Do I want to mess with any of this?!!! No! I do not! But, as it seems there is no other path, I shall have to grit my teeth and take care of it. I did run across a company that has an impressive list of clients that has as part of the software they have a program that you are supposed to be able to boot your computer with and fix an awful lot, thereby giving me the opportunity to at least make a copy of my data if the hard drive issues cannot be fixed, but hopefully taking care of the problem.

I will be sure to talk about the results. I figured I had nothing to loose by trying it, as they have a 30 day back no questions asked gaurentee. I feel sick, I admit, as I have a number of files that are on all computers, or some of them, but not consistently on all. Including my most recent files for my patterns. Getting the data is not an issue at this point, it is simply a matter of time. But I really hate setting up a computer. I hate having to put in all my programs and getting it set just so.  And the time…you know, the last couple of days have been a bit trying.

I’ve whined enough for one day and won’t elaborate more, I should say however that there were good parts of the day, too. Keep your needles crossed that things go well and that I can get my gear up and running. I would much rather be knitting.

 Peace and Knitting, JoLene

Leave a Reply

