Independent Knitwear Desginers Web Ring Update

As many of you know, I started a web ring for Indy designers. My goal is to make it easier for knitters to find us. VBG.

The ring is up to 37 sites now. There are some really great sites, so if you are in the mood to shop around please take a look at them. I don’t get anything out of it other than the pleasure of sharing them with you. I will go through the list, about a half dozen at a time, till we run through the whole list. I was going to do the whole thing in one shot, but I am getting tired and I need my beauty sleep. 😉

1. JoLene Treace Unraveled (obviously, since I started it)
2. Amanda Knits Her last name is not on the page, but she is off to an interesting start.
3. Dawn Brocco Knitwear Designs: Dawn is a wonderful and prolific designer. There is a lot to see on this site.
4. Independent Knitwear Designers: Home page for webring. If you are an Indy Designer with either a line of pattern leaflets that you publish yourself, or you have information on your site regarding your designs and what books and magazines they are in, this is the page to go to read about the ring and to sign up.
5. Big Sky Knitting Designs: Blog of teacher and designer Janet Szabo, this site has her books and her newsletter Twists and Turns. Those who are into Aran knitting would be familiar with Janet as she is the cable queen. She is a member of the Association of Knitwear Designers.
6. Figknits: Blog for designer Jennifer Haggen. She also has a link to her business website, Figheadh Yarnworks. Like my blog, hers talks about her day to day life as a designer. I have not read enough to say whether she is better at posting than I am, but she does share pictures in her blog of things published in magazines, so you can get an idea of other sources for her designs. Her knitting design website has the pattern leaflets that she sells.

Tomorrow, I will be finishing up Blossom, a scarf with a traditional edging going into Fiber Gatherings by fellow Association of Knitwear Designers member Joanne Seif. Joanne is a genuinely nice person and I am thrilled to be a part of her book. When I have more details to share on that, you can be sure I will. I have started and restarted that edging I don’t know how many times. 3 or 4 at least. The yarn is a heavy fingering weight (almost more of a sport than fingering). It is Acero from Brooks Farm, and they have custom dyed a colorway with the same name as the design (Blossom) which they will be carrying. They not only go to the major sheep and wool festivals, but they also go to Stitches events. They have been at Stitches Midwest for a number of years, and each year I love to go to their booth and drool over the wonderful yarns.

Anyway, when you are knitting lace with heavier yarns you cannot always do things the way you are accustomed to doing them, as effects are more magnified due to the thickness of the yarn. Persnickety me, I kept playing with different things until I was happy with the effect of the way the join looked between the edging and the scarf. Each design has a way of telling me when it is done and when it is not. When it is done, I quit tweaking.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

Leave a Reply

