Creating in a Vacuum: Knitting Benefits From The Arts

One of the first maxims I learned regarding online business was that you don’t want to direct traffic away from your site. This is why so many websites, when you click on a link, open in a new window.

Over the last few days (I have no idea really, as I have had pneumonia this month and have been in a little of a fog) I have had a lot of attention focused on work other than my own.  There is a reason for that, not the least of which is if it were all about me, me, me, look what I have done, well that would get really boring quite fast.

Primarily though, I believe that creativity is fed when it does not exist in a vacuum. One of the things I miss from my metalsmithing days was the camaraderie of fellow artists in the studio. In those situations 1+1 doesn’t always add up to 2. The creative energy in the studio always made me think of a bag of popcorn. Ideas start here and there and erupt steadily into a frenzy.  Creativity feeds creativity, you see. It is fascinating to see how one topic or subject is treated differently by different artists. There are quiet moments too, time for introspection and assimilation. Then the cycle starts over again.

I sometimes see posts on lists or other sites that deal with getting in a rut with ones knitting. Like writers block, only with the fiber arts. The usual sage advice that I see is to turn to more knitting for inspiration. That is good advice, but it is limiting. At least in my opinion it is. How about looking at traditional Japanese kimono’s, or textiles from other countries? What colorways! What combinations of texture and color! And moving beyond textiles, what about paintings or sculpture?

I know it can be hard to make the leap between the two, but in the end you are dealing with an artist who has been impacted by something in their life, and the art that they create is a non-verbal expression of that which impacted them in some way.

When I get into a rut with my knitting, I like to look at things completely outside of the realm of knitting. I like to look at it without labels or definitions so that I can appreciate form, texture and color without the left side of my brain (the analytical side) getting in the way of the right side (the creative side). What I find then, is that appreciation leads to inspiration.

I can look at earrings or jewelry and start to think in terms of knitting design. Even architecture, music, and literature.

It is an abstract way to look at things, I suppose, although I would not have classified myself as appreciating abstract art.

I hope you enjoy the links to the other designers, as well as the blogs of those who have linked to this one. Bouncing creativity off of one another through cyberspace doesn’t have the same energy as in person as a studio, but it can still be wonderfully inspiring and may lead one down some very interesting paths.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

One Response to “Creating in a Vacuum: Knitting Benefits From The Arts”

  1. angelarae Says:

    I know what you mean. For example, the link you shared previously that pulled color from a photo, was very inspiring for me. I think the artistic sharing is one of the greatest benefits of blogging.

    Ang

Leave a Reply

