Knitting Kudos: Stitches and Scones, & Sheepy Yarn Shoppe

I am not afraid to tell you my favorite yarn store is Stitches and Scones, in Westfield Indiana. They are number 1 on the A list in their area (an honor recently received). Oh, there are others that are a very close second. Shuttle Shop in Warsaw Indiana, Knitting Today in Wolcottville, Threadbear in Michigan, and others that I like for various reasons.

Stitches and Scones is about a 2 hour drive from my house, so I don’t get there as often as I would like, but if you are in the area they are well worth a visit. They have a fantastic range of yarns that are luscious and a broad range to appeal to probably every knitter. They are friendly, helpful, and inviting.
I was in Indianapolis this weekend, and in my next post I will tell you about the yarns that I bought and why. I also went to the Knit Stop, another great yarn store. The atmosphere in the two shops is completely different, and you would really have to experience both to determine which is your favorite.

I love visiting yarn stores when I am out of town.

If I ever get to White Bear Lake, in Minnesota, I am going to look up Sheepy Yarn Shoppe. They recently contacted me as they are having a class using my Elizabeth I scarf pattern and wanted to order the pattern.

I am always tickled to hear a shop is having a class using the design, as when I worked it up I pictured those new to lace knitting as having a project they could learn the basics on.

Also, I want to applaud them very openly for doing the right thing. While I certainly would not have known about their class if they had ordered the pattern from my distributor, I am thankful that they are not among those who think nothing of making a photocopy for class purposes (which as many of you know is a copyright violation). Sadly in this day and age, there are many shops that will make photocopies for their customers as their customers expect it, since they just spent all “this money” on yarn. I think this is probably the exception, rather than the rule, but I can tell you I would be a loyal customer because of this if they were close enough for me to visit.

Sometimes designers hear about copyright infringement from loyal knitters, and sometimes they do not. Stories circulate among lists for designers about bad experiences related to copyright infringement.

So Kudos to Stitches and Scones, my favorite shop, and Kudos to Sheepy Yarn Shoppe for supporting designers by honoring their hard work.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

2 Responses to “Knitting Kudos: Stitches and Scones, & Sheepy Yarn Shoppe”

  1. changcon Says:

    Yay for good experiences. Sometimes I hear about so many bad ones that I forget that there are people who understand that designers work really hard. Thanks for posting about this particular experience.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    I like to spread the love where I can. VBG.

Leave a Reply

