The Joys of Being a Knitter

With the passing of Thanksgiving into the Christmas Season, thoughts again turn for many knitters into what to make for loved ones for Christmas. Admittedly I have never done this (there is a reason I have test knitters beyond having another pair of eyes to look at the pattern). For example, my granddaughter Jessica is now 8 months old and I am still knitting her baby blanket. My stepdaughter Connie is very patient, thankfully.

I am thankful to be a knitter. Knitting, more than any other creative thing I have done (and there have been lots of interesting things) is what I would call a passion.

Here are my reasons for loving knitting:

1. Knitting is portable

2. Knitting fits a wide range of budgets.

3. Unlike smoking, you still have something when you are done getting your fix.

4. Knitting is soothing and meditative.

5. Knitting helps me to not fidget as I have something to do with my hands.

6. My mind likes being busy and knitting relaxes me.

7. With infinite yarn choices it is hard to get bored.

8. As a hobby it fits so many personalities due to the variety in yarn and techniques.

9. Knitting gives me an excuse to be occupied if needed. People are used to always seeing me with knitting in hand. I can escape if needed and no one is the wiser.

10. Having a stash is like having your own treasure chest.

11. Knitting is comforting. It is a warm and soothing craft.

12. With a little care in what I do, I can get very professional looking results for little effort.

So there you have it. My Baker’s dozen for thankful knitting.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

One Response to “The Joys of Being a Knitter”

  1. angelarae Says:

    I saw an article today in Heart Healthy Magazine about knitting for your heart. It seems that stress is a bad thing and that knitting counteracts the fight and flight reaction that the body has to stress. It can actually prolong your life and deter heart disease. Now, how is that for an excuse to buy yarn!

    Ang

Leave a Reply

