Christmas is Coming, My Stash is Getting Phat

As many of you know already, I don’t knit gifts for Christmas. I know my limitations in getting gifts done in a timely manner. It just doesn’t get done.

What is on my needles at the moment are swatches. As usual. Not that I need to knit more of them. If I were to not knit another swatch for the next 10 years, I would still have plenty of designs rolling out. This is not an exaggeration. I know, I sat and counted them all and organized that stuff this week. I have over 60 that I want to work into designs. This does not include the “rejects”.

But you know, there would be no fun in that. I love the process of designing. And importantly, I love getting new yarn. I find the Yarn Harlot’s choice of name to be frankly inspired, and one many of us relate to on a visceral level.

Some of the newest things I am playing with right now are from The Unique Sheep. I found them on Ravelry, as they were looking for designs for their yarn. What I got from The Unique Sheep is Tinsel Toes, a superwash Merino and Tencel yarn that is a fingering weight. The color that I bought was Sangria, and it is a lovely handpaint. I love it because the color variations are subtle, and the kind of knitting I like to do shows up well in it. There are colorways with more contrast as well, but I tend to go for the subtle ones.

I already have a swatch done for a design that I want to do with it.

Also in the box with the Tinsel Toes is Sashimi, a sport weight Merino and Bamboo combination in Nature’s Gold; House Blend, a DK weight Alpaca, Merino, & Silk blend in Sinful; and Eos, a lace weight Tussah Silk & Merino Blend in Mermaid.

The same week, I received yarn from Trendsetter Yarns. The Association of Knitwear Designers (I am a professional member and also the PR Chair) joins with Trendsetter for an annual event at the TNNA trade shows every year. For those of you in retail who have gone to these and seen The Great Wall of Yarn, many of the swatches that were knit are from members of our organization.

Barry sends out a message and they coordinate yarns from different companies and send them out to the designers who have volunteered to knit swatches. I have only participated one other time, and this time when I replied that I would be able to do two, I also told them what kinds of yarns I do my best with.

I received two lovely lace weight yarns. Classic Elite has long been a favorite of mine, and they have a luscious lace weight Alpaca and Silk. I have that swatch almost done and will probably do another. Silky Alpaca Lace (the link shows it on Webs) is the name of the new yarn. I simply love it. I want more. Lots more. Now. Yesterday, even. I think it will be one of my favorites. It has a wonderful hand and drape and is a pleasure to knit with.

I will also be playing with some of the yarns here at some point, too, as soon as I get to talk to them more. I have made my list, and I’m checkin it twice.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

Leave a Reply

