Soldier Boy, Socks for Soldiers

Often times when I see things for knitting for our troops, it touches me more deeply than some. You see, my husband is a nurse in the Army Nurse Reserve, and my youngest stepdaughter (Hi Sweetie!) is married to a Sergeant in the Air Force.

Our local newspaper, the Journal Gazette, had an article about a youngster who organized sending socks to our troops in Afghanistan. This girl is 12 years old, and she has collected at least 4,000 pair thus far. Her original stop date was December the 15th, but she is continuing to collect socks until the 24th. You can read about this here. Note that they are still taking donations, according to my web search.

f you’d like to donate wool socks for troops serving in Afghanistan, mail them to: D. Mansfield, 7136 Pine Lake Road, Fort Wayne, IN 46814, where they will be packaged for shipment. Cash donations to defray shipping costs are appreciated.

Now on to other news. My husband will be serving stateside at Fort Knox in Kentucky. He has to report for duty on January 3rd, and he will be serving for a year. Thankfully, Fort Knox is 6 hours away by car. He couldn’t have been stationed any closer to home, and I am thankful that he will be there. It was a bit up in the air for awhile there, where exactly he was going to be. First it was Washington DC, then it was Fort Bliss, Texas. We were at Fort Benjamin Harris yesterday so he could finish up his paperwork with his unit and get it faxed over to whomever needed it, and literally an hour later we got the word.

Please remember to keep him, and our other men and women in service, in your thoughts and prayers. No matter how we personally feel in our own politics and where we are at in this world, our men and women who selflessly serve not only this country but those in their own countries, deserve a debt of gratitude for their selfless sacrifice of time, commitment, and lives.

We all have much to be thankful for, and they often don’t have many things we take for granted. I have to tell you I would love to see where 12 year old Alison is, in another 2o years. If you have not read the article, please take time to read it. It is a fascinating story. This is not the first thing she has done with humanitarian efforts towards our military people.

Alison, I know you don’t know me from Adam and likely will never read this, but I salute you. In a world where people are absorbed with many material things, your contributions are making a HUGE impact in the lives of others.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

6 Responses to “Soldier Boy, Socks for Soldiers”

  1. Gillian Says:

    And Peace to you too. And prayers and good thoughts for your military, and ours in Canada. What brings tears to my eyes is the recorded Xmas greetings from members serving overseas, particularly on Dec 24.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks, Gillian, I appreciate your kind note. It has been a real roller coaster here, but I think things are settling down. It is always hard to hear the messages and see what joy comes to them from something as simple as a thank you. It really puts things into perspective for me.

  3. Julie Says:

    I thought you might be interested to know, if you don’t already, that there is a Yahoo group dedicated to knitting Socks for Soldiers. Founded by a woman in Ohio, in honor of her son, who is in the Air Force.
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SOCKFORSOLDIERS/

  4. Ginger aka Beethoven Says:

    Just to let you know that we all at home prayed for your husband tonight, and we did extra prayer to cover tomorrow, the day after tomorrow, and the day after that and.. for your husband. Wish him safe, healthy and a pleasant trip, and hope he returns home soon.

  5. angelarae Says:

    Please thank your husband and son-in-law for there service to this country. So many of us appreciate it for what it is and appreciate their sacrifice and yours, too, by the way. Merry Christmas to all of you.
    Ang

  6. jolenetreace Says:

    Thank you, Julie, I’ll have to check out the yahoo group. And thank you, too, Ginger and Ang. We appreciate it so very much. I say I can suck it up like a good military wife, and I can…but it is very emotionally draining getting ready. I cannot imagine what it would be like having to kiss him goodbye knowing he would be going overseas. My stepdaughter Erin had to do this twice already, and she is in her mid twenties. We find ways to cope, but it isn’t easy. In truth I am rather heartsick, but he has to be able to do what he feels is the right thing to do. For me to ask him to do less would be wrong. So, my plan is to keep busy. I guess that won’t be hard to do. And to remember to be thankful he will be close to home (6 hours by car)…and to pray for those whose loved ones are farther.

Leave a Reply

