Tea Timing Knitters: It’s a Cozy World

I belong to the Association of Knitwear Designers. One of our members, designer Dawn Brocco, has some really great patterns for tea cozies on her site. I love tea. I never used to be much of a tea drinker, but my sister bought a beautiful teapot and some teas for me for my birthday one year, and I have been hooked ever since. The tea came from Culinary Teas, in Syracuse. An hour drive from my house, one way. The only tea I drink now. It is some good stuff.

One of these days, I am going to design myself a tea cozy. My friend Beth Brown Reinsel is going to come spend the night before stitches, and it would be a lot of fun to have tea for her in my new sunroom/garden room, with some wonderfully artistic tea cozy for my pot.

I may have to make one of Dawn’s, as I don’t know that I will be designing one anytime soon. It might make a fun project though.

They really are worth taking a look at.

On the home front, a cup of tea might be a nice thing to enjoy tonight. Everyone is gone now – Erin, Andy and Ian (Sweetie, Waggs, and Cutie Pie) are all back in Dayton. They went home yesterday. My husband Ed was home for the weekend and went back about an hour ago.

Time to decompress, knit, and plan yarn for projects. I am having all of my sample garments redone and am in the process of choosing yarns. I am thinking either some Cream Earl Grey, or Apple Spice. Chai would be good too.

Today they got the stamped stained concrete porch done. I have no idea what is on the agenda for tomorrow. Hopefully the framing inspector will be out at some point.

My only “I want to get it done and soon” thought is it will be really nice to get yarn out of literally every room but the bathroom and kitchen, and get my studio organized.

That may be a tea drinking day too.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

2 Responses to “Tea Timing Knitters: It’s a Cozy World”

  1. Dawn Brocco Says:

    Thanks so much, JoLene, for your kind words about my cozies!

  2. Erin (AKA "Sweetie") Says:

    Um, there is still often yarn in the kitchen. And there are knitting magazines and books in the bathroom. But I don’t think having your yarn room done will keep all knitting paraphenalia out of the rest of the house. It has a way of taking over, all the while doing its evil “bwah hah hah” laugh. (Mental picture of a ball of yarn evilly creeping into a “non-knitting” area of the house, with a little tail of yarn trailing behind.)

Leave a Reply

