My Favorite Things: Channel Island Cast-On

I love the Channel Island Cast-On. I appreciate the detail it can bring to the edge of a knitted garment, and I also love having detail that you don’t see on every hand knit sweater.

This particular cast-on is one that I have used a few times in my patterns. I have not included the directions in my patterns, as there are a number of very good references that include them.

I decided to do my own tutorial for this decorative and versatile cast-on. My  Channel Island Cast-On Tutorial was photographed at Katherine Misegades house (actually she did the photography). Thanks Katherine!

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

5 Responses to “My Favorite Things: Channel Island Cast-On”

  1. Julie Says:

    Thank you for the tutorial — very nicely done. I haven’t tried it yet (actually, I think I did use that cast on many years ago for a small guernsey sweater, now packed away for the next generation), but have saved a copy of it.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Thank you, you are quite welcome. I have had the pictures for several months and finally got around to getting them put together.

    Cheers, JoLene

  3. Linda Says:

    So I’m looking at Vogue Knitting Fall 2009 issue when I see a pattern for Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Ganome hat (it sort of looks like an elf hat, Christmas is coming…). This calls for the Channel Island cast-on. Now, I’ve been knitting for 40 years, and never saw the instructions for this particular cast on anywhere…except here.
    Thank you for teaching an old dog a new trick ;-))

  4. Dell spreads the Ivy Bridge love to new XPS 8500, Vostro 470 PCs (video) | Capital J in Cursive Says:

    […] whitney houston dead at 48 whitney houston dead 2012 whitney houston passed away heartbreak hotel don cornelius whitney houston i will always love you breaking news whitney houston […]

Leave a Reply

