Stitches Midwest: I Am a Happy Miser

I don’t know how many of you watch Bugs Bunny, or remember watching the Looney Tunes Cartoons. I still love the old ones. Daffy Duck in particular would be in some scenes where there would be gold involved and he would be diving into piles of gold, gleefully chortling “I am a happy miser!!!!!!!!”

Any knitter having been through the Stitches Market and finding yarn, needles, notions and what not and stockpiling said stash in their hotel room I am sure has experienced a similar emotion. Oh, yes, they are adding a Stitches South. It will start next April.

I like to see what is selling in the market overall, and I like to watch for trends. I also keep an eye out for yarns to swatch with. One designer collegue said to me “Don’t take this the wrong way, but why are you here?” (they come to teach). I said “I come, I schmooze, I buy yarn”. What better reason to come? I had one class on Sunday morning with Nancy Bush, but I was there from the beginning.

I enjoy connecting with my vendors, designers I know, and people I have run into. The whole aspect of people recognizing my name and work is something still new to me and it still surprises me when someone recognizes my name. I was supremely flattered over the weekend when I spoke with Linda Pratt from Westminster Fibers (she is the national marketing manager) at their booth and she recognized my name. I don’t know that she remembers my work, but she has seen my name. One advantage of being active in the Association of Knitwear Designers is it does help get your name out there to the industry, which is very helpful when needing color cards or yarns for sample garments.

The highlight of my trip, well, would be spending time with my friend Beth Brown-Reinsel. Closely followed by discovering that Addis now come in a 00 (1.75mm). I was ready to dance when I found them in the market. A couple years ago, that was a futile search for me. Of course, Lacis came out with that size, as did the HiyaHiya needles. But still, my favorites are the Addi Turbos and Addi Lace needles.

If I tried to remember at this point what yarn I came home with, most of it would be a blank. I am still not unpacked and have been putting out fires with the remodeling since I came home. The issue du jur is conncecting to city water. I won’t go into detail, but I am really wishing Ed were home to handle this because I am frankly fried. I have in the last two weeks battled the basement people, the carpet installers, and the people I have been talking to about the french doors (one of the french doors has had an astral on order for several months now). I have boxes all over in my dining room and hallway because my studio has a foundation problem in the corner (minor, but has caused a delay in work so the stuff cannot be moved into yet until it is fixed). Things are chaotic here.

You know, in that daffy duck cartoon where he was in a cave diving into gold and saying he was a happy miser, I think there was a Genie involved. A *poof* you’re done and moved in moment would be great although unrealistic.

I think the best thinkg to counteract it all might be some knitting with some of that new yarn I got to play with.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

3 Responses to “Stitches Midwest: I Am a Happy Miser”

  1. Rachael Mellow Says:

    Hi Ms Treace, I am knitting the Calliope Sleeveless Shell that I purchased from KnitPicks some time ago. Due to my husband’s diagnosis of cancer and 2 yrs of “hell” it has taken me awhile to knit this garment. I will love it when it is finished. However, I found what I think is a mistake in the written directions for Size 36 armhole shapinG; Dec row 6: says….k3,p2,s2-k1-p2sso,p2,ke…..and there is the confusion. That should be a knit stitch, but I’m not sure whether it’s 1 or 2 or 3? Can you please send me what it is supposed to be. Thank you in advance, Rachael Mellow. I’m in Sharpsburg, Md. and am attending Stitches East. Would love to attend Stitches West one time. Where is Stitches South going to be?

  2. Patricia Harper Says:

    Stitches South is going to be in Atlanta! It’s only a 10 hour drive from here, so I hope I can make it!

  3. Recent Links Tagged With "remodeling" - JabberTags Says:

    […] public links >> remodeling Stitches Midwest: I Am a Happy Miser Saved by jetsetshow on Wed 05-11-2008 Flatpack kitchen cabinets – Readikit kitchens from Laminex […]

Leave a Reply

