New on the Blog, and the Cave of Wonders

First of all, thank you to those of you who have sent in emails and posted on my blog. I really appreciate the warm condolences.

You might have noticed I did a little house cleaning, so to speak. I did a little rearranging, and added a meebo widget in the sidebar. If you get the hankering to say hello and see me online, feel free to use it. I decided to call it Yackity.

On the studio front, I have almost all of my yarn sorted and put away. I have a little more to do yet, and it is fair to say I cannot believe how much yarn I had stuffed in that tiny little bedroom upstairs. The clowns in the circus with their little car have NOTHING on me.

The cave of wonders could actually perhaps be a little bigger? It isn’t quite 25 square feet, but almost (almost 5 x 5 feet, more like 4.5 feet by 4.5 feet). I did not utilize all three sides, though. I love that closet.

I will be participating in the lace club at Woolgirl and my design will be a scarf and stole pattern featured in the last month of the club. From Jennifer Jett, owner, “Woolgirl is sponsoring a lace club next year, starting in March 09, which will be called “Embrace the Lace: The Seven Virtues of Lace”. This club will be loosely based on the Seven Heavenly Virtues – and so every other month we will offer a shipment of a different lace project – including the pattern, yarn, and extra goodies that correspond with the theme and yarn.”

I am doing Prudence. Prudence is a Cardinal Virture, and originally deals with Wisdom, Forsight, and Knowledge. In our culture now, however, it has somehow become contracted to be less than the fullness of its intent and is associated with being cautious, sometimes overly so.

Don’t get me wrong, I think that there are many strong and valid reasons as to why things are traditionally done certain ways. But I also think that knitters need to remember it is okay for them to look at their knitting and own it. Know what works for you and don’t be afraid to do it if it is different. 

This requires knowledge on your part, so you do have to be open to learning and you do have to be willing to look at what you are doing and weigh the results, but in the end you will be a more informed knitter. Your knitting will suit its purpose better, and you will be able to look at patterns and spot trouble areas before you begin knitting. It is all well and good to picture ones self as a rule breaker. But if you don’t know what the rules are, why they exist, what the alternatives are and what they mean, then you cannot make wise and informed decisions.

Making decisions about your knitting based on knowledge is powerful. A good virtue to have regardless of whether working lace or not, but can be particularly helpful in things like lace knitting when you are looking at something like an edging and think “Gee, that edging is really open and the rest of the knitting isn’t as open. That stitch pattern looks like it will flare, maybe I should do a swatch so that the edge doesn’t flare out”. Or maybe it might be “I want a scarf with fluted ends, and I want the edging to do that for me. Hmmm, let’s see…here’s an edging that is pretty open (has a lot of yarn overs) at the points, it looks like it would fan out nicely, I’ll knit a few inches and see what it looks like. Maybe I need to make it a little deeper”.

The patterns themselves won’t be too complex (not more than anything else I have done, really). I am aiming for the adventurouse beginner and intermediate knitter. I think I have my ideas for the scarf pretty well hammered out, I just need to swatch them.

The yarn will be from Unique Sheep for mine. Other months will feature other yarns, they have lots of different dyers involved and I am told they like to use colorways unique to the club.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

One Response to “New on the Blog, and the Cave of Wonders”

  1. abubroday Says:

    hmm.. strange 🙂

Leave a Reply

