Global Knitting: Spanish Knitting Patterns and Printing

With the advent of the internet, it truely seems as though the world is a smaller place in many ways. Business has to think in global ways, or at least outside the box (and yes, as many of you may remember, I do hate that phrase but sometimes it is appropriate).

In the context of knitting, many handknitters in various forums such as Ravelry have knitting patterns that are in languages other than their native tongue. That is nothing new, and there are different resources out there to help us decipher patterns written in other languages.

From a business perspective, I have been considering having my patterns translated into Spanish. It is a market segment that is largely unserved so it would be a good move on my part. However, getting them into the hands of those Spanish speaking knitters would be the consideration.

I do have a distributor in the US that I have emailed to see what they think of the idea. If they are not interested in offering the Spanish versions, I suppose I could offer the translations online in pdf file format as a download. getting the word out would be the key there, as is any new thing a business offers.

This will take some thinking about, to be sure. I like the idea, it is the implementation I am not sure about.

On the other side of going global, or rather thinking more globally or being globally aware, I have a more earth friendly printer. I used to do all of my printing on an Okidata printer. Okidata has great customer service, and even though I felt guilty about the big fat toners, at least they could be recycled. At first.

After awhile, the company quit recycling the toner cartridges. My printer has a fair number of consumbles: a toner cartridge for each color (yellow, cyan, magenta, plus black), a transfer belt, a fuser unit, and then there is an image drum for each of the colors (plus the black). I have replaced the fuser unit once, and the image drums once. And I was at the point where not only did I need to order more toner cartridges, but I also would be looking at replacing all of the consumables within the next 3 to 4 months.

That meant I would be shelling out over $800 easily, closer to $900. To be honest, I have been drooling over Xerox Phaser printers, the ones with solid ink sticks, because there is so much less waste. I have had my eye on the Phaser 8560, the one that duplexes and is network ready. It has so much less waste (no bulky toner cartridges and other consumables and therefore less waste going in the landfill), less consumables (just the ink sticks, and a maintenance kit every 30,000 pages or so), costs less to print (less waste means less cost, and less consumables means less money spent on things to replace), well the benefits are obvious.

I would spend the same or close to it, regardless, so why keep putting money into a machine that had more waste, cost more to operate, and put much more trash in the landfill? With the Xerox Phaser, the company sited studies that showed the printer had 1/40th the waste of an average toner based laser printer. Wow. I have probably had the Okidata for 5 years, and at the rate I have had to replace consumables, I decided it was time to get a new machine, so I bought a Phaser 8560.

I know several knitting designers who own Phasers and love them. I have been delighted with mine. I thought my patterns looked good before, and was quite proud of how professionally done they looked. I was surprised at how much better they look with the Phaser.

Slight color shifts that were there before that I just could not get rid of are gone now. I did everything I could to get rid of them before, too, right down to color profiles for my printer and having the monitor calibrated with a doo-hickey that hangs over the monitor that measures the colors on the monitor as they flicker across the screen.

I think the biggest difference is the printer I am printing with now is a post script printer, and since I use Adobe Creative Suite 3 (well, Adobe in general) those programs like post script printers. They print very accurately with post script printers so it pays to look for a post script printer if you use this software. If you want to read about it in great detail, here is a Wiki page where you can read all about it.

I tell new designers all the time to treat their business like a business. That is sometimes hard for us women to do, particularly when it is something that is ours and it is something that we are the only ones engaged in. Of course in the end only you will know what business decision you are comfortable with and that is the only one that matters…and that is okay. As long as it is your business, and your decision.

Peace and Knitting

JoLene Treace

5 Responses to “Global Knitting: Spanish Knitting Patterns and Printing”

  1. Gillian Says:

    Many years ago I started using French and German patterns because there was a glossary of translated terms available. Pingouin had it at the back of their stitch dictionary in about 5 languages. This allowed me to pick out the required words and get the relevant instructions. It was very useful and I appreciated that I wasn’t limited. Good luck with your project.

  2. Xerox Phaser Printers Says:

    Great tutorial! Very informative in how well worded and descriptive you were! You know they say that if one knows how to describe what they want really well, then life is just as good as how you describe it 🙂
    Its great for people who feel like time is running against them and then land on your blog and feel like a whole burden was just lifted off of their shoulder.. I admire and respect people who take time to make it easier for others.. Thanks a bunch! 🙂

  3. toner cartridges Says:

    toner cartridges…

    Global Knitting: Spanish Knitting Patterns and Printing « JoLene Treace Unraveled…

  4. spanish jobs Says:

    spanish jobs…

    […]Global Knitting: Spanish Knitting Patterns and Printing « JoLene Treace Unraveled[…]…

  5. Rosalind Says:

    Eventually the look forward to a Conflict of
    Kin hack machine that’s appropriate for cell devices
    has ended.

Leave a Reply

