Simple Style Available March 2009, Interweave Press

Well I just discovered that Interweave Press will be releasing Simple Style by Ann Budd in March of 2009. I was quite happy to be part of  the book, which was a bit of a stretch for me, and am eager to see the finished product.The book features projects by 16 different designers. Besides myself, designers include Pam Allen, Véronik Avery, Mags Kandis, Deborah Newton, and Vicki Square.

I don’t tend to think of my designs in those kinds of terms (simple), so I suppose that is where it was a stretch for me. For someone who has a love of detail, that can be a challenge which was why I really wanted to submit something for this book and was thrilled when the design was accepted.

I addressed the problem of going about the design by thinking of Japanese style, as they are notorious for using few elements to best advantage. I tried to follow this in choosing inspiration and subsequent design elements. I had wanted to do a design for some time that was inspired by the Cherry Blossoms that I had photographed in Washington DC one spring just before the Cherry Blossom Festival, and as they were a gift from the Japanese that was perfect to base the design on.

My design is named Kazumi, a ladies shapped pullover in Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo (a bamboo blend yarn).  The name Kazumi is a Japanese name meaning “Beautiful Harmony”, and is a name for both genders. A name for a design is also an important design element. I have taken as long as 2 years to complete a design because the name was the final element of the design to fall into place!

My design in Simple Style features a Channel Island Cast-On and a delicate eyelet lace ribbing at the sleeve cuffs and hips that then flows into a simple ribbing pattern. I have heard lots of good feedback on the design already. As soon as I have a picture to post, I will.

Until then, here is the link to the book on Interweave’s site.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

One Response to “Simple Style Available March 2009, Interweave Press”

  1. Ginger aka Beethoven Says:

    New knitting book, wonderful! Must get Mum to check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

