Red Crowned Crane

Red Crowned Crane

Red Crowned Crane

Here are a couple pictures of the Red Crowned Crane that I took at the San Diego Zoo a few years ago. I went up this path/road, and there was this bird that was bigger than a small child. It was quite inquisitive and friendly, and I think it was one of my favorite parts of the trip.

I am working on a design inspired by this bird, where it will be published I cannot disclose yet. When I know I will let you know. Unfortunately, I cannot share details on yarn and stitch pattern yet either. I can tell you that I am looking at fine gauge yarns, however, in fibers that drape.

I love the look on his face here. This bird is a very striking bird, and you don’t get the sense of that really from this angle but this is a more of what I would call a portrait shot. Distinguishing characteristics are lovely black plumage at the tail, black neck and feet, and the scarlet spot on the top of the head. I don’t actually know if this is a male or female.

I could go with a slick yarn, like Euroflax linen, or a blend like Terra from SWTC.  I think something along those lines would suit the design best. It could have a very slight fuzz to it, but not a lot. I want it to have good stitch definition.

This is a very shapely bird too. I am pictureing a comfortable garment, not too structured but not too baggy. Too highly structured would not feel right, anymore than having something with no shape to it.

Cranes are symbolic in many Asian cultures. Red Crowned Cranes are supposed to be symbolic for Longevity, Marital Fidelity, and Luck. They are also symbolic of Immortality and nobility. This crane is also called the Japanese Crane or Manchurian Crane, is 55 inches tall, and can weigh up to 22lb (although some males have been up to 33 lb).

red-crowned-crane-29_web-res2

Red Crowned Crane, Profile

The scarlet patch on top of their head gets red whenever they are angry or excited, although this bird seemed so calm the whole time I was there I never would have guessed either was the case. I wasn’t making any noise, and I was the only person there. It was quiet, and I wasn’t flapping my arms or trying to gesture or call to it. It walked right up to me and turned it’s head, this way and that. We had a Zen moment. At least I did.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

2 Responses to “Red Crowned Crane”

  1. Tori Says:

    http://www.gruitag.org

    I was wondering if it would be okay for me to use your photo on this site under the Cranes:Photos:Exhibits section? I am the Red-crowned Crane SSP Coordinator for the North American Captive Population and I am trying to collect a great picture of the cranes in all of the zoos where they are held.

  2. waltzingaustralia Says:

    You would have known if he had been angry or excited. That patch (which is always visible, but just a duller red) gets much, much redder and puffs out slightly — plus the crane acts more aggressive, especially if they have a mate or young nearby. I’ve seen a crane go pretty crazy when someone in a red shirt came near while the female was incubating an egg. So clearly, the crane above was very mellow with you there.

Leave a Reply

