Acorn Project Update

Well I went over to the blog for the young woman with breast cancer, and she passed away this past October. Perhaps that little Acorn would make a good Breast Cancer Awareness project.

From what I read on the blog, it sounds like she was an amazing woman. My heart aches for her family, as it inevitably does when I see or hear about people in these situations. What an amazing impact she had on her world though.

I am not a crocheter, although I know how to crochet. I may have to see if I can get Erin to make one for me (Hi Sweetie!). She is a good daughter and I have been married to her dad for nearly 20 years.

When I was studying Metalsmithing, we had a project where we were to do a container for something precious. Mine was an incense burner, and the inspiration was the young lady at Columbine High School who was killed because she refused to deny her faith.

Containers for things that are precious can hold just about anything. When I saw the pattern for the Acorn bag/container, I immediately thought of that Metalsmithing projcet.

One of the things that I enjoy about containers for things that are precious is that the contents can vary so much. My knitting paraphernalia is precious to me, and some of it is decidedly whimsical. I like the idea that I can have something that reminds me of a courageous young woman who was well loved and respected because of her kind and loving nature, and it can also be light hearted and fun, and hold items like my favorite stitch markers in an altoid tin, a Sheep Pez dispenser, my favorite little scissors, Clover Chibi needles, and the ball of yarn I rescued from my cat.

This must be why I love putting the story behind the design on my patterns. I appreciate the history behind an object, and it is that history that enables an object to transcend itself and become so much more.

Peace and knitting, JoLene Treace

One Response to “Acorn Project Update”

  1. Ditzy Says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Instantly Search Millions of Public Records & Resources

Leave a Reply

