Blog Tour: Fiber Gathering by Joanne Seiff, Blossom Scarf by JoLene Treace

I will be participating in my first ever blog tour in the first part of April. I am a complete neophyte in these things, so my designer friend Joanne, author or Fiber Gathering by Wiley Publishing, has had to fill me in on how it goes. So I am making the official announcement now. I will give the date a little later when I get it, but mark your calenders for the first part of April as it will be interesting.

Joanne’s book Fiber Gathering is just out, and I will be giving away a copy of the book on the date of my blog tour. How I am going to do this I haven’t quite figured out yet. I’ll have to look at the WordPress set up and see if there is some sort of built in drawing or something I can do. Anyone have any suggestions? I may have to pose this question on one of the designer lists I belong to.

The book has more than 25 projects with reviews of sheep and wool festivals across the United States. Joanne had quite the travel schedule visiting them I know. It is a delightful book that is sure to please the armchair traveler. Besides projects to knit, there are articles as well including Learning to Hand Dye Multicolored Yarn by Adam Church. Adam Church is an electrical engineer in his day job and a fiber nerd at night. He runs Yarn Nerd, a company with a scientific twist on hand-dyed yarn.

Projects include a Natural Alpaca Ruana by Annie Moedsitt, Fishtail Vest from Terri Shea, a scarf (Blossom) from yours truly, Evergreen Stole from Rosemary Hill, a Men’s Crochet Mock Cable Sweater from Kim Guzman, Southwestern Pillows from Judy Dercum, and others. There was a rug, and a few socks in there too, as well as some other sweaters.

Other articles included were related to spinning and preparing fleece, and inexpensive tools for knitting. That little article was interesting as I don’t know that it would have dawned on me to turn chopsticks into knitting needles.

Stay tuned, and let everyone know about the blog tour, as other participants will have books to give away too.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

Leave a Reply

