Random Thoughts on Easter: No Knitting Content

For those in Western Cultures, the Easter Holiday is a normal occurrence and may be a secular or Christian celebration. You may have celebrated yours with visits to Church or visits from the Easter Bunny (and the following candy fest), or a combination of both. My husband was home on leave over Easter, and I got to thinking about Easter and of course about the many things we have that we take for granted in our lives. It is easy in any country to look at difficulties and to forget about blessings. It is easy to look at other cultures and not to be accepting. Odd as this might sound, I am not particularly talking about Americans towards other cultures but humans towards humans in general. There is a fair amount of finger pointing all the way around that just gets old.

In the end, to me the only ones who benefit are the 24 hour news channels and the blogs that are little more than on-line versions of the National Enquirer. I find it ironic that in a day and age where people of the world supposedly celebrate diversity, there is so much intolerance of those who are diverse. This happens not only on a global scale but on a national scale as well. For example, political affiliation aside, whatever one may feel about either Hillary Clinton or Sarah Palin the sky will not fall if either are in office. That they both represent people with diverse views and opinions there is no doubt. Do we come to the best decision when there is no passionate discussion? Not really, as we are not forced to look at issues from every possible angle. We see this time and time again whenever either party is in overwhelming majority for periods of time and gets to do basically what it wants unchecked and unfettered with no discourse. There are effectively no checks and balances then.

We need each other, with our different view points, and not to always agree. Sure, it is nice to agree but that doesn’t always give us the best solution. We need to accept and respect that just because someone has different beliefs and philosophies than our own, and different political view points, does not make them naive, less intelligent, or somehow less than we are. They have a different view than we do. We don’t have to agree with it, but we don’t have to be superior about it either.  Agree to meet in the middle as long as it is my way? That is silly but it is an attitude that far too many adults have.

Whatever one may feel about Christians, whatever experiences someone may have had with those who may have been over-zealous, misguided, or immature in their faith, one thing clear in the teachings of Christ that is a common theme in many other religions: love is of primary importance. We are, as Christians, to do all things in love. Without love, we are nothing. Not in the romantic sense, but in the human sense, for the ability to love is what defines our humanity. 1 Corinthians 13 vs 1-13 explains it well.

If Hillary Clinton can do a good job as a liberal senator, I commend her. If Sarah Palin can do a good job as a conservative governor, than I commend her. Whether or not they are conservative or liberal should not be the end all and be all on how they are judged. Granted I know it affects how they view things, how they prioritize, how they set agendas, how they vote. But how do they role up their sleeves and work? Women can be very strong and very independent and still be conservative. Women can still have very strong family values and be very liberal. While I think it important that we take an interest in current and political events, I also think it important to pray for our leaders. Christians should be praying not that our leaders have the same opinions we do, but that they make wise decisions. I don’t know about you, but last I checked I am not wise all the time, nor do I know everything.

Jane Fonda said one thing I thought was quite brilliant, she said she thought we were more purple than anything (referring to the mixing of red and blue, the colors for our two political parties). While I don’t think it would be good to have one party, I think there is a lot of truth to the purple thing. There is a lot of overlap in how people think and feel in the two parties when it gets down to our level. In the end, we all want the same thing. We want our country to be healthy, we want our families to be healthy and happy.  There are not as many people out to get us as we think, and we can make a difference in the world.

There is a lot to be thankful in this world. There are a lot of uncertainties right now, many of which are thrust upon us hourly by the 24 hour news channels who are selling ratings and a story. I am not saying everything is peachy, but I am saying that we forget to look at our blessings. Mood follows thought. If our collective thought is always negative, than how can we as a country feel good or positive about the future? I am so thankful for my husband, a good and honorable man. I am thankful for my family whom I love very much. I am thankful for my Stepdaughter Erin, who has been such a blessing in my life (Hi Sweetie!).  I know she will be surprised to read that because she is pretty modest about those kinds of things. I may have not given birth to her, but she is my daughter. I love her son, and I love her husband who is a kind and playful man. I am thankful for the gift of creativity that I have been blessed with as it gives me many hours of enjoyment. I am thankful for so many things.

I hope you have much to be thankful for as well.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

2 Responses to “Random Thoughts on Easter: No Knitting Content”

  1. Gillian Says:

    Good post! Lots I agree with. And a husband home on leave is great. Stay well.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Thanks Gillian, I sometimes hesitate to post anything that has no knitting content. It was nice to have my husband home for the weekend. Hope you stay well too.

Leave a Reply

