Hello From Boston

I have been having fun visiting the Boston area…more specifically I am in the Concord and Lexington area. I flew into Boston, but that has been it for this trip.

I have visited 4 or 5 yarn stores, one ice cream place (in Bedford), and been to a couple military parties.

Today we went to the Minute Man park. That was simply amazing. It was awe inspiring to see sections of the road where the revolutionary war started. We also saw the site of the North Bridge, including the current North Bridge. I think the current North Bridge has been rebuilt 3 or 4 times. Understandable as it is a wooden bridge and they only last so long with people walking over them on a daily basis.

As far as the yarn stores, my first day I went out was when Ed was at work. What better way to spend a rainy day when the husband is at work? Wild and Wooly was my first stop. They had a fantastic selection and were very nice. Turns out they also carry some of my knitting patterns, and recieved some from Up North Fiber Art Supply after the Summer trade show in Columbus (TNNA) the same day I visited. Edwina’s Knitch was another shop I went to that day. I was going to go to Creative Warehouse that day, but when I called Black Sheep the friendly and helpful lady there told me Creative Warehouse wasn’t open on Wednesdays (this was a Wednesday, obviously). So I decided to go to Lexington and do Creative Warehouse and Black Sheep another day. I haven’t made it over there yet, but will on my next trip.

I went to a little store on Thursday. I don’t remember what it was called. It was a nice little store, but did not have a very big selection of yarn. In all honesty I don’t remember many details on where I went, other than Wild and Wooly. I will go back there. The other small stores I went to were nice enough, but nothing to write home about.

There are still plenty of other stores on my “hit list”. Creative Warehouse, Black Sheep, Island yarn, Windsor Button, A Good Yarn, Wolcott & Co. Those are the ones I remember off the top of my head though.

Ed has surgery on his knee tomorrow for a torn meniscus. Then Wednesday I go back home. We were able to celebrate our 20th anniversary together. we watched the Boston Pops from tv rather than in person (we were going to go for the fireworks but Ed was having a lot of pain so we stayed home). We did that on our Honeymoon 20 years ago.

I will be putting pictures on Flickr. I have not done that in ages. So there is only a little to see right now but there will be more later.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

Leave a Reply

