Knitted Gifts by Ann Budd: Animal Crackers Errata

I have had two delightful knitters email me regarding a couple things that had apparently dropped off the directions for this design, the last bit of the directions for the garment back and then there was a question regarding the finishing directions.

First, here is the bit left off on the garment back:
It should read “Maintaining selvedge sts, work Rows 1-4 of spot patt across center 81 (89, 97) sts 18 (20, 22) times (The schematic on page 112 does give the measurement). This has been verified by both Ann Budd and the tech editor, so this is the official version for the book.

I have not seen the book yet outside of TNNA, as I have not received my copy yet, but it has been relayed to me that instructions are missing on the finishing of the hem. I don’t know how it is worded in the book yet. When I get the book and or hear back from Ann (I will be emailing her today) I will update this post. At any rate, There is a line of yo, k2tog worked across the row in the contrast color in the hem. This is the fold line for the hem. It will fold naturally there, and creates a sweet little scalloped edge. Worked in the contrast color it gives the effect of just the scallops themselves being in the contrast color. The hem is whip-stiched in place, taking care not to constrict the fabric. For the sake of the continuity of the book, however, there will be stylistic wording that they use. As I said when I get the official word I will post it here.

When I have both I will add it to my FAQ and Errata page on my website.

I want to thank these two knitters for their kindness and gracious way in which they contacted me. In some communities, errors such as this are cause to heap accusations on the publisher and designer. In reality, everyone has worked hard to bring a fine book to press and sometimes things happen, or they get missed. It is unfortunate, but it happens. Thank you for bringing this to my attention in a respectful and friendly manner. We were both able to have our dignity intact and I so appreciate that. I also appreciate the fact that the same courtesy was extended to Interweave. I am as always proud to be part of their publications.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene Treace

2 Responses to “Knitted Gifts by Ann Budd: Animal Crackers Errata”

  1. Sharon Everette Says:

    I’m looking for more instruction in Ann Budd’s Handy book of knits with regard to the tams. For the wheel pattern, the instruction is to stagger the decreases. Well, my work was a spiral, not a wheel; guess I need more than ‘stagger’ to get the right design. Any help here?

    • jolenetreace Says:

      I am sorry I don’t know anything about that particular design. I would suggest you contact either Interweave or the designer for help. I am knee deep in several designs right now myself and to try and figure out the intent of a design I am not familiar with while working on several on deadline would be very difficult. Thanks for your understanding.

Leave a Reply

