Canadian Geese and the Joys of Kntting

One thing that amazes me is the amount of email that I receive. I get very little email from knitters with problems, and for that I am thankful. I do work hard at making my patterns easy to follow. Occassionaly there are errors or things just are not explained by me in a way easily understood by that individual. It happens. Once in awhile I get an odd email, like my friend’s puppy ate my copy of your pattern can you send me a new one (this was one that was in a magazine). Recently I received an email from someone who apparently did not care for my using the phrase “Canadian Geese” in my pattern Flying Geese.

Well, where I live that is what we call them. First, I am 25% Norwegian. That alone means I have just a little stubborness. Second, I am from the Midwest. We are very practical here. While I don’t want to offend anyone, really, are there not better things to take pointy sticks to? There are better things to have as a pet peeve, more worthy causes to put our energy into. I prefer to put positive energy into the world around me. If in someone elses part of the world they want to call that goose something else, hey it is their corner of the world to live in they can call it what they want.

For those who are terminally curious, I did find this page regarding the issue. Quite entertaining it was to read too. I really like what they call it in Canada. You’ll have to read the page to see what that is.

We sometimes get wrapped around our needles about things that are not in the end all that important in the big scheme of things. I hope you enjoy the stories and the imagery for what they are, and that you enjoy the world around you equally well. Including your knitting.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

Leave a Reply

