Wine and Roses Mitts, Interweave Knits Winter 2006

Wine and RosesI had mentioned before the fingerless mitts going into Interweave Knits(at the time I could not remember if it was the fall or winter issue). They will be in the winter issue due out in November. You’ll have to scroll down towards the bottom to see it on the page. I have been very excited about this, as this is my first appearance in an American knitting magazine…let along my favorite. I had a design and three articles on choosing colorways in Britian’s Knitting last year, and that was exciting too.

To make the mitts as pictured you will need Jade Sapphire Mongolian Cashmere 2-ply (100% cashmere; 400 yd [366 m]/55 g): #039 slate, 1 skein.

What I really had in mind with this design initially was something romantic and feminine, and something to keep my hands warm when the weather turns chilly. We keep the thermostat a little lower. Okay, I know for many of you that 68 or 70 hardly qualifies. But we live in a 100 year old farmhouse, and it is just a wee bit drafty. I will freely admit I get cold easily. I like the temperature to be around 72 year round.

These mitts fit the bill perfectly for keeping hands warm indoors in a lavish bit of self indulgence. They are feminine, fun, and functional. They combine a variety of techniques, too, which make for interesting knitting.

The cuff at the sleeve end has an edging gleaned from Latvian Mittens, there is a variation of a simple eyelet pattern that utilizes purled decreases rather than knit decreases to change the texture, an Estonian lace pattern, and a variation of a picot hem which is done using pebble stitch at the fold line.

Pebble stitch is worked as follows: on RS row, k2tog across taking care not to work tightly. On following WS row *k1, M1 by knitting into running thread between sts. Rep across from *. This is best done with a stitch worked plain on at least one end of your knitting, but as you would do this between selvage stitches you would not need to worry about adjusting for an odd or even number and having a running thread at the end to work into – just don’t use your selvage stitch to complete this pattern and you are good to go.

Thanks to Tara Swiger, of BlondeChickenBoutique for sending me the link to Interweave’s winter issue. Tara has a business with handpainted yarns and her site is both ecologically conscious and entertaining.

Peace and Knitting, JoLene

9 Responses to “Wine and Roses Mitts, Interweave Knits Winter 2006”

  1. atu Says:

    These are really lovely mitts and I really look forward to making them. It was one of my favourite patterns in the Interweave.

  2. jolenetreace Says:

    Thank You! I am looking forward to getting them back, they were a lot of fun to knit and a nice quick project. When you get them done send a picture, I would love to see it.

  3. Katie Says:

    I’m just about to start knitting these. Thanks for a beautiful pattern!

  4. atu Says:

    Hi Jolene,

    my mitts are done!

    Should you wish to have a peek, here is a link to my site.

    http://www.alltangledup.com/movabletype/archives/001281.html

    Thank you for a wonderful pattern.

    Polly

  5. angelarae Says:

    Congratulations:) This is a lovely pattern. I’m going to try them in some Misti Alpaca I have.

    Ang

  6. JoLene Treace Says:

    Dear Polly and Ang: I am behing in my email and catching up today, so I would have visited your blog sooner, Polly. Actually went there today after reading an email from a knitter who had been to your blog. They look lovely and you did a wonderful job on them. Thanks for sharing the link!

    Ang, I think they will be wonderful in the Misti Alpaca. I am a firm believer that knitters should use something they love and not feel like they have to use the exact same yarn.

    Hope you ladies both have a good day.

  7. Talking Sticks: Knitting Blog in Denmark « JoLene Treace Unraveled Says:

    […] Here is an interesting blog that I ran across when checking my blog stats. There is a bit about the Wine and Roses Mitts that were in Interweave this past Winter, right underneath a pair of really smashing […]

  8. Now on Flickr « JoLene Treace Unraveled Says:

    […] on page to see), Keefley Mittens, River Forest Gansey, Evergreen Shawl (in Handknit Holidays),  Wine and Roses Mitts, Forest Park Dresser Scarf (which just came out in 101 Designer One Skein Wonders), and […]

  9. compro vinos Says:

    compro vinos…

    […]Wine and Roses Mitts, Interweave Knits Winter 2006 « JoLene Treace Unraveled[…]…

Leave a comment